As an artist, you will want to preserve some record of your artworks, because you DON’T KNOW if the artworks will exist in the future.

“SINGA” (Lion) ~ 1987 ~ Technical Pen Pointillism. This is a photograph of the ONLY 4″ x 6″ photograph ever taken of this original artwork: Sorry for the lack of details. The original photograph was taken on rather grainy, high-ASA film, under poor lighting conditions, behind glass that was giving off distracting reflections, and it wasn’t focused all that well. Plus, this is a duplicate photograph, which unfortunately, does not reproduce the fine details of this artwork. I have lots of excuses, I know, but GEEZZZZZ, give me a break.

You will want to find some means to create a record of your artworks, because you DON’T KNOW if they will exist in the future. Your artworks could be destroyed by being burned to ash in a fire; or, by being drowned in a flood; or, by being swept up into the sky by a twister; or even, by being crushed under the stinky and sweaty foot of King Kong….You never know! With all of those horrendous art-destruction possibilities, maybe the most convenient recording method nowadays is a digital photographic record. It is unfortunate there wasn’t digital photographic technology in 1987.

Here are the Descriptive Technical Details of “SINGA” (1987):

Medium: Koh-I-Noor® Rapidograph® technical pens, with Koh-I-Noor ink/dye.

Material: Heavyweight acid-free paper. A3-sized-custom-cut.

Nib Sizes: .20mm, .35mm, and .50mm.

Number of Points/Dots: I have no clue…but I would guess anywhere from 20,000 to 30,000 ink dots.

How much Coffee Consumed to Complete this Work: Many, many, gallons.

DOES THIS ARTWORK STILL EXIST?

I do not know.

This is the ONLY photograph I have of this artwork, “SINGA”. It is a rather large (A3-sized) Pointillism work of a lion that I originally photographed at the Henry Doorly Zoo, in Omaha, Nebraska, in 1986.

Pointillism has always been my first-love of all art forms. Georges Pierre Seurat (1859 – 1891), the legendary French post-Impressionist artist, was my main influence in taking up Pointillism. In addition to Seurat, my good friend, Pat Leapley, is a remarkable artist, and he used to work in Pointillism. I have been inspired by both Seurat, and my friend, Pat. However, I made my own particular style of working in Pointillism, using only very small-nibbed technical pens with black ink.

If I create a commissioned artwork, the piece only stays with me for a short time. If it is a personal work of inspiration, and done for myself, I enjoy more time with the piece. Nevertheless, once it leaves my protection, anything could happen to it, although the foot-stomping by King Kong possibility is unlikely. I would hope my artworks last a long time, but you never know.

I have a few Pointillism pieces still in my possession, which I need to photograph. I also plan to start working more in my oldest, and my most favourite art genre/style, Pointillism.

3 thoughts on “As an artist, you will want to preserve some record of your artworks, because you DON’T KNOW if the artworks will exist in the future.

Leave a comment